Arghhhhhh I have like no time to write!!!!

But Happy Valentine’s Day!

First wanted to say thank you for all the Dear Elders I have received this week. Thank you for the cinnamon buns Mummy and Alex! They were really good. I have loved receiving mail this week. Makes me feel really special! And it’s always good to have those little pick me ups. Mamma you’ll be happy to know that you are winning the letter writing competition and you are both even stevens on the package front. Alex, you are failing on your promise!

So this week has been quite the roller coaster. There have been a couple of tears (yes I had a breakdown), some really happy moments and some side splitting moments. After I wrote the e-mail on Wednesday we were able to go to the Temple! The Provo Temple may resemble something from Star Trek but it’s beautiful inside. I couldn’t get over how big it is! But I guess they are probably a lot busier than Preston.

So we continued to teach Kyle and Zach (our teachers), we had no idea how it was going with Zach but with Kyle he was really making changes to be baptised. So my breakdown came after a lesson we had with Zach where Bro Nottingham had said it was our best lesson we had done. My companion had monologued a bit and I had just shared a couple of scriptures and asked questions. When he said that it was our best lesson I felt like I had not contributed anything and that it was pretty pointless me being there. I felt like I wasn’t really good at this missionary lark and felt I would never get any better. And you know how good I am at beating myself up! So yeah, there were many tears. But I really do know that prayer is real and that Heavenly Father sends the comforter. Especially when you ask for it! Also my district is so cute they gave me a heart attack – lots of hearts with nice messages.

Anyway, I got over it pretty quickly when I realised how much work I had put into that lesson. I had studied extensively and thought really hard about questions we could ask to get Zach thinking about what faith in Jesus Christ meant to him.

Also on that same day we had a difficult last lesson with Joy. She is such a lovely lady but she has a lot of difficult questions! Like why God set us up to fail. Why everyone keeps killing each other in the Book of Mormon. About false prophets and the list goes on. She asked me if God asked me to kill someone if I would do it. Caught us of guard and I think because of that I began to panic a bit and stopped listening to the spirit. But she’s still a wonderful lady and some other sisters in our Zone are now teaching her and luckily we were able to warn them about her questions so I think it’s gone better for them.

So on Monday the Elders that we arrived with (another district in our zone) left for Raleigh, North Carolina. It was quite sad as we had all grown really close. They are all young lads but its strange how when they are missionaries they don’t seem so young. Maybe it’s because everyone assumes I’m 19! I don’t mind anyway.

Our main missionary training has ended. Although I’m sad to not be teaching Zach and Kyle and being taught by Bro Nottingham and Sanders I’m enjoying the change of scenery that is visitor centre training! We started it on Wednesday with a visit to Temple Square. It was quick but I loved it! Can’t wait to get out there. The highlight of this week though has been doing the mormon.org chat! We are actually speaking to real people! With real questions!! The first person we spoke with was ‘Juicy’ who asked us what we were wearing so it has the expected trolls of course but they just make us laugh. We had a girl who was doing a class project asking about prayer and how we see it. We were able to ask her how she felt about prayer and she ended up saying how she loved the emphasis the church has on family, that we use multiple scripture to deepen our understanding and she loved the missionaries! It was great as we were able to invite her to read some of the Book of Mormon but as it was one of our first chats we messed up on sharing our contact details before she disconnected. We also had questions about the Godhead, someone who wanted to know how they could know the Book of Mormon was true (from India) and someone wanted to know about revelation. The only downside is that sometimes they will just disconnect in the middle of talking. It’s also fun to do chat as while we are waiting for new chats we can watch mormon messages, conference talks or study using lds.org. We even get to use headphones!

Tomorrow we are going to start taking phone calls too. Guess my call centre training will come in handy!! Tomorrow I am also going to be a missionary on Temple Square! We have been practicing talking to strangers and getting to know them and applying doctrine. They are volunteers that come into our pretend visitor centre but it’s so exciting!
I sang in the MTC choir this past devotional. And get this Mamma, I sang alto! First time ever. We’re doing it again on Sunday, we are singing an arrangement of Praise to the Man. The devotional is being given by Matt Holland, son of Elder Holland (who may or may not come to hear his son speak…) and it’s apparently going to be amazing so I’m quite excited.

Although this week may have had its hard times, the happy times and joy that comes from sharing the gospel definitely out weighs it.  I forgot my Book of Mormon so I forget which scripture I wanted to share with everyone. But I have really loved having time to study and suddenly likening the scriptures to myself and others has become so much easier!
Thank you for all the love and prayers being sent my way. Definitely feel it!

Lots of love,

Sister Orndal
Sister Galgiani, Sister Lytle, Sister Fiso, Me of course, Sister Black

Sister Galgiani, Sister Lytle, Sister Fiso, Me of course, Sister Black

Me getting ready for chat!

Me getting ready for chat!

Me, Sister Lytle, Sister Wog, Elder Allen, Sister Black, Elder Kiddle, Elder Coons, Elder Powell (half face hidden) Elder Gardner, At the front Sister Galgiani and Fiso/

Me, Sister Lytle, Sister Wog, Elder Allen, Sister Black, Elder Kiddle, Elder Coons, Elder Powell (half face hidden) Elder Gardner, At the front Sister Galgiani and Fiso/

Cinnamon rolls!!

Cinnamon rolls!!

Always nice to see a friendly face!!!

Always nice to see a friendly face!!!

My district love me!!

My district love me!!

 

 

 

