So it’s been a month today since I left England – sob. And I’m a week into life at Temple Square. I love it. It’s been hard though but I guess I kind of expected it. It’s the same as before – not feeling that I’m a good enough because I’m not confident enough to speak. My problem is that I compare myself to other missionaries. I forget that it won’t come as easy to me as it does to my companion as she’s 4 transfers ahead of me! But anyway I know I’m just being silly and my goal this week is to snap out of it before I let it consume me!
Anyway, this week has been really good. On Friday we served at the Humanitarian Center. They give tours every hour – not that anyone came. But that gave us a chance to contact people and to go on chat which was good. It’s amazing what they do at the Humanitarian Center (& Welfare Square) and I never really realised how much the church did. At the humanitarian center they employ refugees and train them in a trade so that they can get another job. Part of their working day is also to learn English. You can go to the Humanitarian Center and volunteer to quilt! The most amazing thing was watching all these old men (like in their 80s/90s) sat tying knots in quilts. It’s so cute and wonderful to see that you are never too old to serve others.
On Saturday I went to my first baptism! It was up in Ogden so we had to get permission as it is out of the mission boundaries. The lady getting baptised was Janet. Sister Tiritilli had been teaching her. It was a long journey for Janet to get to baptism and it’s definitly a miracle. She came to Temple Square last night and she is absolutely beaming – hearing how her life was before you can see what a change has taken place. She can see the miracle she is and has such gratitude to Heavenly Father. She is already seeing so many blessings in her life that baptism has brought!
On Sundays we have sacrament at 7:30am (yawn) at the chapel in the Joseph Smith Memorial Building. It’s beautiful! I took my first tour on Sunday! A family of 3 from Norway so I spoke some Norwegian but we did the tour in English as they wanted Sis Tiritilli to understand and for their son to practice English. I said a little prayer of thanks because I think I would have struggled to do the tour in Norwegian. It was a really good tour and we were able to share the Family Proclamation with them and show them God’s Plan for the family. The mother was crying and from the comments the son made I know they both felt something. When we asked if they wanted to keep in touch they didn’t. They said they already believed what we believed and that was enough for them.
I passed off on doing tours on Monday – woop woop. That means I know my facts! As a well done we got a voucher to go for dinner at the Lion House.
So the cool thing that happened this week so that we did Temple Service! We go and clean inside the temple. We are cleaning in the basement and it wasn’t that exciting but we moved some furniture and then we went to dust in the Solemn Assembly. Which was so COOL as its only used 3 times of the year and the majority of people will never go up there. I also went in the room where James E Talmage wrote Jesus the Christ and touched the dictionary he used. It was so nice to walk around the temple and see all the rooms with no one else there.
Yesterday we took a tour with 4 Brits. One was really interested. It was really cool to do a tour where it was all doctrine instead of history. He just seemed to be so ready. He took a BoM and agreed to read. We are going to call him in a couple of weeks. He actually has a business where he provides memorial services and life celebrations where they put peoples ashes in fireworks and do displays. Crazy. But the amazing thing was that the woman he was with (he seemed totally uninterested) also asked for a BoM. She didn’t commit to us calling her but she our contact details.
We had explore day where we took the tours at the Humanitarian Centre and Welfare Square. They make so much food at welfare square and the Bishop’s Storehouse looks just like a supermarket. Also went to DI and got a skirt for $3.
The weather has been beautiful here but today it is raining! Typically on p-day when we had planned to hike. I didn’t tell you last week but I’ve changed my name to Sister Ordnal. They spelt it wrong on my badge and I still haven’t received my new ones! We’ve been running most mornings down at a track near by. I say run. I walk more than I run but I’m trying. My goal is to run the hill behind the conference centre one day this coming week as I’m always with the people at the back walking back. Running down it is of course easy! 
I’m sure I have more to tell but I forgot my planner and it had all the things I planned to write in it 😦 Ι already feel so lost without it and it’s only P-Day. The rest of p-day is going to be spent at home I think relaxing. The best type of pday!
We have loads of phone appointments this week so hopefully I’ll have more to tell next week!
Messages of love from my Mom (Sister Tiritilli) and my roomies Sisters Bonvissuto (Italy) and Escobedo (Mexico)

Messages of love from my Mom (Sister Tiritilli) and my roomies Sisters Bonvissuto (Italy) and Escobedo (Mexico)

With Janet after her baptism and two of the Elders serving in the Ogden mission who also taught Janet.

With Janet after her baptism and two of the Elders serving in the Ogden mission who also taught Janet.

Today on the way to RS - we are only allowed to take pictures on the square before 8am. This is the best of a bad bunch!

Today on the way to RS – we are only allowed to take pictures on the square before 8am. This is the best of a bad bunch!

IMG_1479

With Tiritilli and Sister Bomgren

With Tiritilli and Sister Bomgren

