It’s been a good week again. The weather is beautiful here at the moment and I’m hoping that it doesn’t get any hotter but I know that is unlikely! I’m actually having to wear sun cream to make sure I don’t burn, although with guest services we don’t see too much of the light of day – at least it feels that way!
The missionary work is going well. I can’t remember at the moment who I have told you about and who I haven’t told you about so some updates you might not even know who I am talking about! There isn’t any big news although a lot of them are attending church and we have 4 investigators who are consistently attending church so that is good. They are also all meeting with local missionaries. We have a baptismal goal of 3 this transfer and are really concentrating on those three. We already have one and the other two are on date. We have Francis is Colombia, he is from Nigeria. He is very interested in knowing EVERYTHING before he is baptised but we aren’t too concerned about that. The thing we are concerned about is that he keeps asking how he can become a pastor in our church. We keep explaining that being a bishop isn’t a career, you don’t get paid for it as much as bishops wish they were! But he still asks. And so we wonder a little about his motives. But I’m beginning to think it’s because he wants to know a lot and for him he recognises pastors as being someone who understands scripture.
Fabio is from Argentina and really wants to be baptised and is working with the local missionaries to make sure that happens. He wasn’t well this week though so he didn’t attend church but we are working towards next weekend with him!
We are also teaching Marie. I don’t know if I told you about her but at the end of my first transfer she came on chat and said that she really admires her LDS friend and wants what she has in her life. We spoke with her and she seemed a little weird (I think she had just woken up) and then I was never able to get in touch with her again. Anyway she finally answered and she had attended church with her friend. Well this past week she had begun meeting with the local missionaries and every time I speak to her she just sounds so much happier. I think she is finally finding that hope she was craving!
We met one of Sister Diaz’s investigators from last transfer, Carmen, on the square. She is from Venezuela. She is experiencing a lot of family problems and says that she wants to be baptised but has too much to think about at the moment. But she said that she is having to chase the local missionaries up to meet them! So she is at least being proactive about everything. We were able to talk to her in the actual temple grounds and I think she really felt a lot of peace there. I’m so grateful to serve here at Temple Square where we are able to teach where the spirit already is!
We met a really interesting person at Temple Sqaure this week. She goes by the name Pirate. She was one of the most interesting people I’ve met on my mission and so lovely too! We met her outside the assembly hall and spoke for a little while. She had tattoos all up her arms, across her chest and neck. We had taken her to the temple model and she asks if she can show us her bible. So we go sit down and she pulls a bible from her backpack – it’s one of those HUGE family bibles. She explains to us how she wants to do her family tree that is in the middle of the book. While she’s putting the Bible away we see that she also has a Book of Mormon. She explains to us that she picked it up in a hotel and has been reading it. She feels like it really speaks to her. We talk for a while and she tells us about how important God is in her life now. We were meant to be meeting us again on Tuesday but she has no phone or e-mail for us to contact her (she’s a traveler – she says her heart is her internet.) but we got a voicemail on Tuesday saying that she couldn’t meet us at 2 as planned but would be there sometime between 4 and 5. Well, we waited and kept checking for her but she never came 😦 when we called the number back it was some random office where she had walked in and used the phone so we have no way to get in touch with her. I’m really hoping that we see her again though!
Things are going really well with Sister Diaz. I love her so much! The APs (who both happen to be my zone leaders from the past two transfers) have said just how much happier I look and one of them said to me today she is going to speak to president about trying to keep us together. I don’t know how likely it will be as Sister Diaz will be going into her 6th transfer and they might have her train or something else. We have a lot of fun and jokes between us and regularly wind each other up. So it’s really good!
Cool thing that happened this week – Jacque treated us to dinner! She is so lovely and I absolutely love her. And we are mega poor so it was a nice treat. It was nice not to eat rice and beans twice that day! I mean I love burritos but I am not loving them everyday anymore.
Sister Diaz said something interesting the other day as we were walking. We were talking about how you are sent to the mission that you are needed at for certain people. We talked about our reactions about temple square mission calls and whether if we were to choose whether we would choose to come here. And Sister Diaz says that she believes that she was sent to Temple Square because she is needed for a lot of people all around the world. We are able to reach the people who would probably ignore the missionaries if they met them in the street or if they knocked on their door, yet we have been given the tools needed to reach these people.
We had exchanges this week with the district leader. We had 24 hour exchange so Sister Christensen (my DL) stayed at ours. I learned a lot from her and a lot about her. And also a lot about myself. I really do think the mission is making me a better person. Definitely a more loving and less judgmental person. I think I’m finally realizing what it means to forget yourself.  Not that I thought I was judgmental before I clearly was! The strange thing is that this transfer has been my happiest but it’s also the first time I’m actually beginning to feel home sick 😦 I know this is where I’m supposed to be but sometimes I miss mummy and sissy cuddles. Or just having a day off. Even P-days are stressful!
Memorial Day

Memorial Day

The other picture is Sister Diaz, Me, Sister Ha (my favourite Korean!), Sister Ordoñez (Honduras), Sister Garcia (El Salvador/Texas) (both APs and my old ZLs), Sister Depablos (Venezuela), Sister Ichikawa (Japan) and Sister Jarrett from Hawaii at the front!

The other picture is Sister Diaz, Me, Sister Ha (my favourite Korean!), Sister Ordoñez (Honduras), Sister Garcia (El Salvador/Texas) (both APs and my old ZLs), Sister Depablos (Venezuela), Sister Ichikawa (Japan) and Sister Jarrett from Hawaii at the front!

xxxxxxxxx
